High Plains Church Unitarian Universalist

Web Banner Cartouches

Our UU traditions are informed by wisdom from many world sources. The twelve wisdom circles that surround the two banners were created by HPCUU members and are mounted on two walls. The icons represent, in alphabetical order: B'hai'i, Biological and Physical Sciences, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Humanism, Islam, Judaism, Shintoism, Taoism, Unitarian Universalism and Wiccan.


The nine pointed star symbolizes the well-rounded life activities of a B'hai'i.


Biological and Physical Sciences
The fish and atomic logo symbolize the importance of nature and science in our life.


The eight spokes on the Buddhist wheel of life denote the eight-fold path.


The Roman cross evokes the crucifixion of Jesus Christ in Christian teachings.


An "om" is the symbol of oneness in the Hindu and Buddhist traditions.


The "happy human" symbolizes the importance of people vs. dogma in Humanist thinking.


A star and crescent symbolize the teachings of Islam.


The six-pointed Star of David has been the symbol of Judaism since the Zionists adopted it in the 19th century.


Worshippers bow and salute the gods when passing under a torii, or gateway, when entering a Shinto shrine.


A yin yang symbolizes the balance of opposites.


Is a modern pagan religion drawing on ancient pagan theology and practice.


Unitarian Universalism
Intertwined circles with a cross and flaming chalice symbolize the merger between Unitarians (a chalice) and the Universalists (an off-center cross) in 1964.